Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link
Admin Sign In 

Social Work: Public Policy  Tags: social_work public_policy social_welfare  

A guide to finding current public policy, policy analysis and background information for policy makers.
Last update: Oct 22nd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/swlpolicy  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Current News             Print Page
  
 

About News Sources

News articles from magazines (such as Time or Newsweek) or newspapers can be helpful if you are looking to supplement your research with information about current events.

However, they should not be used in place of scholarly research from journal articles.

For more information about finding journal articles, go to the Find Journal Articles page.

Tracking Legislation

News from Magazines

  • Academic Onefile  
      
    While this interdisciplinary database has access to peer-reviewed journals, it also includes the full-text of articles from news magazines.
 

Massachusetts News

  • Massachusetts Newsstand  
      
    This includes the Boston Globe, The Boston Herald, and local newspapers from Massachusetts
  • LexisNexis  
    Comprehensive news search. Search can be limited to regional sources.

Overviews of Current Issues

  • Facts on File  
      
    Features the World News Digest and an excellent overview of issues and controversies in today's news. This database is especially useful if you want to get an overview of a hot topic in the news.
  • CQ Researcher  
      
    An excellent source of reports on major issues and the "pros and cons" of different controversies.
  • National Journal Group's Policy Central  
    Comprehensive resource on politics and public policy. Includes journal articles, political campaign coverage, and legislative issues in Congress.

World News

  • Factiva  
      
    Search for news from world sources.
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe  
      
    Includes major news publications from both the United States and around the world.
  • PressDisplay  
    Online, same-day access to more than 300 newspapers from the U.S. and more than 65 other countries. All papers are provided complete (with a few minor exceptions) and in color, exactly as they appear in print. Issues remain available online for 60 days.
  • World News Connection  
    Full text news compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources. Coverage is by region and includes: East Asia, Near East and South Asia, China, East Europe, West Europe.

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageJane Morris


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Social Work Library
Boston College
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467
617-552-3234
Send Email

Subjects:
Social work, Public policy

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait