Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link
Admin Sign In 

American Politics  Tags: american_politics politics government  

This guide highlights useful resources for finding information about American Politics
Last update: Dec 23rd, 2008 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/americanpolitics  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Documents             Print Page
  

Presidential Documents

AMDOCS (Documents for the Study of American History)
The site contains documents (by century) in American history, which can be used by students to trace the evolution of American politics and government.

Archives USA (BC Community Only)
Access to holdings and contact information of more than 5,400 repositories and online links to over 2,200 repository home pages. Indexes to special collections and over 3,000 links to online finding aids.

Avalon Project at Yale University
An important feature of this web site containing important historical documents is its search engine, which allows you to look easily for specific documents or documents by subject. It has documents grouped by century, major collection, subject, author and title.

A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates 1774-1873
A wealth of information on the Congress, Continental Congress and Constitutional Convention provided by the American Memory site at the Library of Congress. It includes Farrands Records, Elliots Debates, Statutes and Documents, the Journals of Congress, and the Debates of Congress (the Annals of Congress, the Congressional Globe and Register of Debates).
Declassified Documents Reference System (BC Community Only)
Selected US government documents declassified under the Freedom of Information Act obtained from presidential libraries. Documents originate from various government agencies, including the White House, the CIA, the FBI, and the State Department. Covers many major domestic and international events of the post-World War II era.
LexisNexis Congressional (BC Community Only)
Congressional publications indexed from 1970. Includes full text of congressional reports, documents, prints and bills and the Congressional Record. It also has transcripts of prepared testimony and selected questions and answers from 1988. Includes also bill tracking reports, public laws and U.S. Code service, the Federal Register, biographical information, hot topics and links to the web.

Documents of American Constitutional and Legal History. 2 vols. (O'Neill Reference REF KF4502.D365 1989b)

FINDLAW
This site has Supreme Court decisions since 1893 with a search engine. You can browse, do a citation search, party name search or full-text search. Has links to other Supreme Court information including the Supreme Court calendar, court rules, recordings of oral arguments, news, biographical information, and a copy of the Constitution with Congressional Research Service annotations and links to cited Supreme Court cases. For further audio material plus other material on leading cases, go to Oyez at Northwestern University.

Historic Documents. 1972- (O'Neill Reference REF E839.5.H57)
Documents of national and international significance are presented in the texts of official statements, Supreme Court decisions, reports, presidential news conferences, speeches, and special studies. Each document is selected and introduced by the editors, arranged in chronological order by month, and indexed.

Landmark Documents on the U.S. Congress. (O'Neill Reference REF JK1041.L36 1998)
A chronological listing of major events in the history of Congress with documents, background commentary, and sometimes with related documentary material.

National Archives and Records Administartion
This site contains a wealth of documentary material from the federal government. Since NARA administers the presidential libraries, it includes their electronic finding aids. The O'Neill Library owns the microfilm for the presidential libraries except for the Kennedy Library, which students are expected to visit since it is local.

National Security Archive
This web site at George Washington University collects and publishes declassified documents acquired through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). Includes documents on the Cuban Missile Crisis and the Iran Contra controversy.

National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC)
This is a web site at the Library of Congress. BC also has the printed equivalent in the Reference section REF Z6620.U5N3 which consists of annual volumes and indexes, plus a two volume Index to Personal Names in the National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections 1959-1984 (REF Z6620.U5N32 1988). The "NUCMC" is the place to look for where American historical figures' papers are located in the United States. It will tell you not only where their papers are located, but in what other repositories correspondence to and from them are located. The web version also contains links to other archival sites.

Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
The web site just has the papers for Clinton. The printed volumes in the O'Neill Library stacks (non-circulating) cover from Hoover to the present under the call number JA80.A283. In addition, most of the presidential papers from Washington to Coolidge are located in the microfilms area on Level One, and some presidential papers are in printed volumes in the stacks under various call numbers. Also in the stacks for earlier presidents is A Compilation of the Messages and Papers of the Presidents, 1789-1908, 11 vols. J81.B96 1908.

Repositories of Primary Sources
A useful list of over 3700 archival web sites with links by world region and by state for the United States.

Vital Speeches of the Day. 1934- ( O'Neill stacks PN6121.V52 non-circulating)
Current issues are in current periodicals. Contains important speeches made by American political figures and others made during each year.

Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
The web site has from 1993 to the present (searchable), and the printed volumes in the O'Neill Library stacks JA80.A284 (non-circulating) go back to 1965. The current issues are in Government Documents.

World Government Documents Archive: Declassified Documents Reference System-US (BC Community Only)
The World Government Documents Archive DDRS continues the old Declassified Documents Reference System documents found in O'Neill Library Government Documents. They both consist of documents declassified under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). It covers major domestic and international events since World War II but is geared toward international events.
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageLeslie Homzie


Contact Info:
617 552 1907
O'Neill Library
Boston College
Room 309
Send Email

Subjects:
History, Political Science

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait