COMM 3374 : Human Communication Theory

Background Information

Research sources, strategies, and support for students in CO 374 Human Communication Theory

Introductions & Overviews

Human Communication Theory and Research: Concepts, Contexts, and Challenges
This print source introduces students to developments in communication theory and research, including linkages within and between different ways of looking at interpersonal, organizational, and mass-mediated communication.
Communication and Social Psychology
This entry from the Int'l. Encyclopedia of Social & Behavioral Sciences presents a social psychological perspective focused on audience, communicator, and message and the relationships between them.

Language & Terminology

Like all disciplines, and like the research process itself, the field of communication has its own language, one you should become accustomed to as you make your way around in it.

The sources on this page can help, but also check out the following:

Communication Abstracts/Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides combined searching of the two major communication studies databases, including abstracts of articles, reports, and books from a variety of scholarly, trade, and professional publishers plus full text from more than 200 publications.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Handbooks of Interpersonal Communication

Handbook of Interpersonal Communication
Call Number: ONL Stacks (STACK) BF637 .C45 H287 2002
Explores key issues in the field, such as verbal and nonverbal behavior, the importance of self-reporting data, methods for studying context, and the role that social cognition plays in interpersonal transactions.
The Handbook of Communication Skills
Call Number: O'Neill Stacks BF637 .C45 H284 2006
Provides a comprehensive analysis of research, theory and practice in the key skill areas of communication, such as non-verbal communication, persuasion, leadership, assertiveness, self-disclosure, listening and negotiation.
Handbook of Family Communication
Call Number: Social Work Library Stacks HQ519 .H36 2004
Provides a comprehensive analysis of research, theory and practice in the key skill areas of communication, such as non-verbal communication, persuasion, leadership, assertiveness, self-disclosure, listening and negotiation.
Handbook of Communication and Social Interaction Skills
Call Number: O'Neill Stacks HM1111 .H36 2003
Covers social interaction skills & skill acquisition, in the context of personal, professional, and public stages.
Handbook of Communication and Emotion
Call Number: ONL Stacks (STACK) BF637.C45 H283 1998
Provides a comprehensive look at the role of communication in emotion, including how specific emotions are communicated and research on the effect of communication on relationships.