A guide to research for students in the Prof. Cuklanz's Gender Roles & Communication course.
Are you trying to select a topic for a gender roles and communication paper?
Try some of the suggestions on this page to get overviews of gender and communication issues, questions, and subjects that are in the news and/or of interest to scholars.
Try a broad search like women and advertising or gender and television
or media and body image during the literature search on your topic and you're likely
to be overwhelmed by the results.
But do a broad search (using the databases in the Finding Books & Articles section of this guide) when trying to select a topic and it will help you get a sense of some of the many ways scholars
have approached an issue.
SUBJECT ENCYCLOPEDIAS provide concise overviews of a wide range of
topics related to gender roles and communication. Browse through any of the
following for context and and basic information on topics that you can
explore more fully.
- International Encyclopedia of Communication
Covers communication theory and philosophy including many areas related to mass media studies. Search by topic or browse the table of contents.
- Encyclopedia of Television
(O'Neill Reference PN1992.18.E53 2004) Essays on key TV programs and personalities, genres, organizations, topics, and issues. 1999 edition online.
- Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media.
O’Neill Reference HQ784 .M3 E53 2007
A collaborative effort of 500-plus international academics and researchers, this two-volume publication contains research and facts on the media's interaction with children and adolescents.
- St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
Includes more than 2,700 signed essays ranging from 500 to 2,500 words, written by subject experts and edited to form a consistent, readable, and straightforward reference. Entries include subject-specific bibliographies.
- Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications
(O'Neill Reference P87.5 .E532 2003) 4 volumes. Articles on: the media in different countries; the development and use of communication technology; and concepts (such as censorship,copyright, and libel) that regulate he content and flow of information.
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
Select the category "Media" from the encyclopedia's main page for the largest group of communication-related articles, divided into six major sub-categories, including Communications Media, Effects & Audiences, Popular Culture, and Study of Mass Media.
- Encyclopedia of New Media : An Essential Reference to Communication and Technology
(O'Neill Reference QA76.575 .E5368 2003) Describes concepts, contexts, and trends in new media, covering terms, technologies, key businesses, organizations, and individuals, laws, and social issues important in the development of new media.
- Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising
O’Neill Reference HF5803 .A38 2003
Includes coverage of social, cultural, and historic issues that influence advertising- ethics, feminism, regulation, stereotyping, sex, and war, to name only some.