Skip to main content

Chemistry Collection

:

Building the Collection at O'Neill Library

The Father of Modern Chemistry

Antoine-Laurent de Lavoisier (also known as Antoine Lavoisier)
1743 - 1794
Line engraving by Louis Jean Desire Delaistre, after a design by Julien Leopold Boilly
(Image from WikiCommons)

O'Neill Library Chemistry Collection Emphases

The Boston College Libraries chemistry collection, housed in O'Neill Library, supports the instructional and research endeavors of the Chemistry Department at the undergraduate, master's and doctoral level. Materials collected cover the major areas of chemistry: analytical chemistry, inorganic chemistry, organic chemistry, biochemistry, and physical and theoretical chemistry. 

Particular collection strengths reflect the areas of emphasis in the department's research agenda and include materials related to organic synthesis, organometallic/transition metal reaction chemistry, catalyst development, synthesis of fullerene and other biologically- or chemically-interesting compounds, novel nanoscale materials for energy conversion and storage applications, protein structure/function, and enzyme activity in complex biological systems, among other topics.

                                                                                                            

E-Books for Chemistry

E-books, with their 24/7 availability, are a growing part of the Boston College Libraries Chemistry collection.  While many print books are still purchased, e-book purchases particularly make sense with titles unlikely to be read cover-to-cover, but, instead, read as individual chapters -- much as users read online journal articles.  Reference resources used for fast, desktop look-up of data or information are now purchased almost exclusively as e-books.  For more information on e-book selection, in general, at Boston College, see Selection Criteria and the E-Books at Boston College guide.

Acquisition Highlights

Royal Society of Chemistry 2015 e-book collection
We have just added the many new titles found in the 2015 e-book collection from the Royal Society of Chemistry.  This brings our total to nearly 1250 e-book titles from the RSC, dating from 1968.

More on Collections

For more information about how the library collections at Boston College are being developed, go to the Collections page.

Help Us Build the Collections

At sign

Please feel free to recommend items for the library collections by e-mailing a Subject Librarian.

Feedback

X

Use this form for questions or comments about the BC Libraries or the website. If you have a research question you can also email or chat with a librarian.

Please fill out all required fields.