LGBTQ+ Curriculum Instructional Materials & Children's Literature

Instructional Materials

This guide provides teaching curriculum, literature, and organizations as resources to support the LGBTQ community in the K-12 school environment.

Subject Headings

Use the following Subject Headings in a library catalog, search to retrieve more relevant searches.

Bisexual
Bullying in schools
Bullying in schools -- Prevention
Curriculum, cultures , and (homo)sexualities
Education -- Social aspects
Gays -- Identity
Gay high school students -- Crimes against
Gay students -- United States
Gay teachers
Lesbian teacher
Gender identity
Gender identity in education -- United States
Homophobia in schools
Homosexuality and education -- Unites States
Sexual minorities -- Study and teaching
Sexual orientation -- Study and teaching
Transgender people

If you have any questions about searching the library catalog, please contact a Librarian.

Journals & Periodicals

The Journal of LGBT Youth
The Journal of LGBT youth (2008-current), formally known as the Journal of Gay & Lesbian Issues in Education (2003-2008) is available online as an interdisciplinary resource dedicated to improving the quality of life for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and questioning youth
Education week

Databases

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to items in journals, magazines, newspapers, and many other formats. Most entries provide links to the full text or other file, with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature. There are also video files, podcasts and transcripts from AP,NPR, CNN, CBC and full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education Source covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for a very large number of journals, as well as full text for over one thousand journals. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. This database also includes full text for hundreds of books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
With titles covering different moments from 1970 to the present, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports. A ProQuest collection.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
LGBTQ+ Source provides comprehensive coverage of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Studies. This database indexes more than 120 core periodicals and has fulltext for the 50 major GLBT journals and newspapers.It includes a significant number of core books & reference works. and Grey Literature is included. The database will include NISC's Sexual Diversity Studies.

LGBTQ+ Educators

GLSEN: LGBTQ Educators: What We Know and What They Need
In the current divisive and challenging climate in the United States, many lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBTQ) people struggle to find their safe spaces, especially in schools. Historically and presently, LGBTQ educators specifically have faced challenges being their authentic selves. This article addresses these issues.

One Teacher in Ten in the New Millennium by Kevin Jennings
Call Number: O'Neill Stacks LB2844.1.G39 O645 2015
ISBN: 9780807055861
Publication Date: 2015-08-25
Twenty completely new stories of negotiating the triumphs and challenges of being an LGBT educator in the twenty-first century For more than twenty years, the One Teacher in Ten series has served as an invaluable source of strength and inspiration for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender educators.
School's Out (Print & Online) by Catherine Connell
Call Number: O'Neill Stacks LC192.6 .C68 2015
ISBN: 9780520278233
Publication Date: 2014-11-14
How do gay and lesbian teachers negotiate their professional and sexual identities at work, given that these identities are constructed as mutually exclusive, even as mutually opposed? Using interviews and other ethnographic materials from Texas and California, School's Out explores how teachers struggle to create a classroom persona that balances who they are and what's expected of them in a climate of pervasive homophobia.

Videos

Overview Materials

LGBTQ Voices in Education by Veronica Bloomfield; Marni E. Fisher
Call Number: O'Neill Library Stacks (STACK) LC2575 .L53 2016
ISBN: 9781138187085
Publication Date: 2016-04-12
Addresses the ways in which teachers can meet the needs of LGBTQ students and improve the culture surrounding gender, sexuality, and identity issues in formal learning environments.
Getting Ready for Benjamin by Denise Hoffner-Brodsky (Contribution by)
Call Number: Educational Resource Center Stacks LC192.6 .G48 2002
ISBN: 0742516768
Publication Date: 2002-10-23
This book argues that issues of sexual diversity are inextricably interwoven into the basic concerns of pre-service teacher education.
Rethinking Sexism, Gender, and Sexuality by Jody Sokolower (Editor); Rachel Harper (Editor)
Call Number: Educational Resource Center Stacks LC212.9 .R48 2016
ISBN: 0942961595
Publication Date: 2014-12-01
There has never been a more important time for students to understand sexism, gender, and sexuality--or to make schools nurturing places for all of us. The thought-provoking articles and curriculum in this life-changing book, will be invaluable to everyone who wants to address these issues in their classroom, school, home, and community.
Gay, Lesbian, and Transgender Issues in Education by James T. Sears
Call Number: LC192.6 .G38 2005
ISBN: 1560235233
Publication Date: 2005-05-12
Presents gay, lesbian and transgender youth issues through the words of the adolescents themselves, along with clear up-to-date essays about LGBT youth programs, policies, and practices around the world.
A Culturally Proficient Response to LGBT Communities: A Guide for Educators (ebook) by Randall B. Lindsey; Richard M. Diaz; Kikanza Nuri Robins; Raymond D. (Dewey) Terrell; Delores B. Lindsey
ISBN: 9781452241982
Publication Date: 2013-06-20
High impact strategies to improve student outcomes Positive systemic change begins when school leaders elevate understanding and propel schools toward safe and diverse-friendly environments. To combat anti-gay discrimination, educators often use silence, policy, legislation and compliance. This brave book maintains that building safe and welcoming schools begins not only with effective and appropriate policy but also with inside-out analysis of one's own beliefs and values.
The Right to Be Out by Stuart Biegel
Call Number: O'Neill Stacks LC212.92 .B52 2018
ISBN: 9781517905729
Publication Date: 2018-10-23
An updated edition of this measured, practical, and timely guide to LGBT rights and issues for educators and school officials With ongoing battles over transgender rights, bullying cases in the news almost daily, and marriage equality only recently the law of the land, the information in The Right to Be Out could not be more timely or welcome.
Queering Classrooms by Erin A. Mikulec; Paul Chamness Miller
Call Number: O'Neill Stacks LC192.6 .Q84 2017
ISBN: 9781681236506
Publication Date: 2017-02-01
This book engages the reader in a dialogue about why teacher education must address LGBTIQ issues more openly and why teacher education programs should revise their curriculum to more fully integrate the needs of LGBTIQ learners throughout their curriculum, rather than treat such issues as a single, isolated topic in an insignificant manner.
Understanding and Teaching U.S. Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History by Leila J. Rupp (Editor); Susan Kathleen Freeman
Call Number: O'Neill Stacks HQ75.16.U6 U53 2017
ISBN: 9780299313043
Publication Date: 2017-03-14
Taking into account recent historic changes, this second edition updates the essays on the Supreme Court, same-sex marriage, the Right, and trans history. Authors of several other essays have taken the opportunity to add new material and references where warranted.
Big gay adventures in education : supporting LGBT+ visibility and inclusion in schools by Daniel Tomlinson-Gray.
Call Number: O'Neill Stacks LB2844.1.S49 B55 2021 LOCATE
ISBN: 9780367894221
Publication Date: 2021
Big Gay Adventures in Education is a collection of true stories by 'out' teachers, and students of 'out' teachers, all about their experiences in schools. The book aims to empower LGBT+ teachers to be the role models they needed when they were in school and help all teachers and school leaders to promote LGBT+ visibility and inclusion.

Curriculum Materials

Challenging Homophobia by Desmond Tutu (Foreword by); Lutz Van Dijk; Barry Van Driel (Editor)
Call Number: O'Neill Library Stacks (STACK) LC212.8 .C53 2007
ISBN: 9781858564135
Publication Date: 2007-10-31
Valuable combination of psychological insights and practical suggestions for better educational practice
Preventing prejudice : lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender lesson plans for elementary schools by Kim Klausner
Call Number: O'Neill Library Offsite Collection 539063
Publication Date: 1999
Sexual Identities in English Language Education by Cynthia D. Nelson
Call Number: O'Neill Library Stacks (STACK) LC192.6 .N45 2009
ISBN: 9780805863673
Publication Date: 2008-10-28
Drawing on the experiences of over 100 language teachers and learners, and using a wide range of research and theory, especially queer education research, this innovative, cutting-edge book skillfully interweaves classroom voices and theoretical analysis to provide informed guidance and a practical framework of macrostrategies English language teachers (of any sexual identification) can use to engage with lesbian/gay themes in the classroom.
Lgbtq Curriculum and Heteronormativity in the Classroom by Steven Camicia
Call Number: O'Neill Library Stacks (STACK) LC192.6 .C258 2016
ISBN: 9780415709927
Publication Date: 2016-06-21
This book illustrates the relationship between politics and the ways in which lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) issues are taught in schools. Camicia offers recommendations to public schools and teacher educators about socially just ways to create inclusive LGBTQ curriculum.
LGBTQ Youth by Vincent Pompei
Call Number: Educational Resource Center Stacks LC192.6 .P66 2012
ISBN: 193560967X
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
The laminated guide LGBTQ Youth: An Educator's Guide is a valuable and practical resource for educators, many of whom receive little or no formal training on the issue of LGBTQ youth.
The Gender Quest Workbook for Teens by Rylan Jay Testa; Deborah Coolhart; Jayme Peta
Call Number: Educational Resource Center Stacks HQ77.9 .T47 2015
ISBN: 9781626252974
Publication Date: 2015-12-01
This one-of-a-kind, comprehensive workbook will help you navigate your gender identity and expression at home, in school, and with peers.