140 Commonwealth Avenue Chestnut Hill, MA 02467-3810
Located in the original Bapst Library building on Boston College’s Chestnut Hill campus, the John J. Burns Library offers students, scholars, and the general public opportunities to engage with rare books, special collections, and archives.
The second edition of The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America thoroughly updates the original, award-winning title, while capturing the shifting American perspective on food and ensuring that this title is the most authoritative, current reference work on American cuisine.
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
by Kwame Anthony Appiah (Editor); Henry Louis Gates (Editor)
Call Number: O'Neill Stacks: DT14 .A37435 2005
Publication Date: 2005-04-07
More than 4,000 articles cover prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religion, ethnic groups, organizations and countries on both sides of the Atlantic Details in the Catalog
A Companion to African American History is a collection of original and authoritative essays arranged thematically and topically, covering a wide range of subjects from the seventeenth century to the present day. Includes discussions of globalization, region, migration, gender, class and social forces that make up the broad cultural fabric of African American history
Contains original essays by expert contributors in the field of African-American Studies, inclluding a series of reflections from those who established African American Studies as a bona fide academic discipline
The authoritative source for information on the people, places, and events of the African diaspora, spanning five continents and five centuries.
Selected Cookbooks & Monographs
by Jessica B. Harris
Call Number: TX725.A1 H284 1998
Publication Date: 1998-12-09
InThe Africa Cookbook,culinary historian and cookbook author Jessica B. Harris takes you on a tour of the Motherland, exploring the extraordinary diversity of the cuisines of the continent.The Africa Cookbookfeatures more than 200 traditional and contemporary recipes collected from home kitchens across Africa, including the familiar couscous of Morocco, the savory stews of the eastern grasslands, and the curries and chutneys of the Swahili coasts. From the sophisticated cuisine of Senegal to the creolized food of Mauritius and the Seychelles to the Afrikaner barbecues of South Africa, Harris presents the food of the continent and paints unforgettable portraits of the people who shared their culinary heritage with her.
African American Foodways
by Anne L. Bower (Editor)
Call Number: TX715 .A2428 2007
Publication Date: 2007-05-30
Moving beyond catfish and collard greens to the soul of African American cooking Ranging over the progression from seventeenth-century West African fare to contemporary fusion dishes using "soul food" ingredients, this book provides an introduction to many aspects of African American foodways.
America I Am Pass It down Cookbook
by Jeff Henderson (Editor); Ramin Ganeshram
Call Number: TX715 .H4959 2011
Publication Date: 2011-02-01
The smells in the kitchen, the unforgettable flavors--these powerful memories of food, family, and tradition are intertwined and have traveled down from generations past to help make us the people we are today. Now, Tavis Smiley's America I AM exhibit has joined forces with Chef Jeff Henderson and Ramin Ganeshram to create the America I AM Pass It Down Cookbook.
by Jane Fajans
Call Number: GT2853.B6 F35 2012
Publication Date: 2012-11-01
Explores the role that food and cuisine play in the construction of identity on both the regional and national levels in Brazil through key case examples.
Chicken--both the bird and the food--has played multiple roles in the lives of African American women from the slavery era to the present. It has provided food and a source of income for their families, shaped a distinctive culture, and helped women define and exert themselves in racist and hostile environments. Psyche A. Williams-Forson examines the complexity of black women's legacies using food as a form of cultural work. While acknowledging the negative interpretations of black culture associated with chicken imagery, Williams-Forson focuses her analysis on the ways black women have forged their own self-definitions and relationships to the "gospel bird.
Cooking in Other Women's Kitchens
by Rebecca Sharpless
Call Number: HD6072.2.U52 S574 2010
Publication Date: 2010-11-11
As African American women left slavery and the plantation economy behind, many entered domestic service in southern cities and towns. Cooking was one of the primary jobs they performed in white employers' homes, feeding generations of white families and, in the process, profoundly shaping southern foodways and culture.
Family of the Spirit Cookbook
by John Pinberhughes
Call Number: TX715 .P6568 2001
Publication Date: 2001-06-01
The quintessential cookbook/family album by master home-chef and photographer John Pinderhughes serves up traditional African American cooking with a dash of the nouvelle.
Food and Identity in the Caribbean
by Hanna Garth (Editor)
Call Number: GT2853.C27 F66 2013
Publication Date: 2013-05-08
Explore the relationship between food and identity in everyday life in the Caribbean.
Fusion Foodways of Africa's Gold Coast in the Atlantic ERA
by J. D. La Fleur
Publication Date: 2012-09-01
Agricultural changes and culinary cross-currents from the Gold Coast indicate that Africans engaged the Atlantic world not with passivity but as full partners with others on continents whose histories have enjoyed longer, and greater, scholarly attention. The most important ‘seeds of change’ are found in the creativity and innovation of the people who engaged the challenges and opportunities of the Atlantic World.
High on the Hog
by Jessica B. Harris
Call Number: TX715 .H29972 2011
Publication Date: 2011-01-04
The food and foodways of the African Diaspora.
Historical Cookbook of the American Negro
by Dorothy I. Height (Preface by); National Council of Negro Women Staff
Call Number: TX715 .H72323 2000
Publication Date: 2000-10-20
A richly brewed collection of recipes, historical facts, photos and personal anecdotes. Scattered among recipes readers find excerpts from such documents as the Gettysburg Address and the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. This delightful collection of delicious recipes helps commemorate African-American history throughout the year.
Selected Cookbooks & Monographs
Hog and Hominy
by Fredrick Douglass Opie; Frederick Douglass Opie
Call Number: TX715 .O548 2008
Publication Date: 2008-10-08
Frederick Douglass Opie deconstructs and compares the foodways of people of African descent throughout the Americas, interprets the health legacies of black culinary traditions, and explains the concept of soul itself, revealing soul food to be an amalgamation of West and Central African social and cultural influences as well as the adaptations blacks made to the conditions of slavery and freedom in the Americas.
In the Shadow of Slavery
by Judith A. Carney; Richard Nicholas Rosomoff
Publication Date: 2010-01-27
New assessment of the Atlantic slave trade; shifts attention from the crops slaves were forced to produce to the foods they planted for their own nourishment.
The Jemima Code
by Toni Tipton-Martin
Call Number: TX715 .T598 2015
Publication Date: 2015-09-15
Women of African descent have contributed to America's food culture for centuries, but their rich and varied involvement is still overshadowed by the demeaning stereotype of an illiterate "Aunt Jemima" who cooked mostly by natural instinct. To discover the true role of black women in the creation of American, and especially southern, cuisine, The Jemima Code presents more than 150 black cookbooks that range from a rare 1827 house servant's manual, the first book published by an African American in the trade, to modern classics by authors such as Edna Lewis and Vertamae Grosvenor.
Peppers, Cracklings, and Knots of Wool Cookbook
by Diane M. Spivey
Call Number: TX725.A4 S68 1999
Publication Date: 1999-10-01
Fifteen years in the making, this book showcases a myriad of sumptuous, mouth-watering recipes of people of color from various parts of the globe.
Pig Tails 'n Breadfruit
by Austin Clarke
Call Number: TX716.B35 C58 2000
Publication Date: 2000-04-01
Caribbean memoir --part cookbook, part family history--by one of the pre-eminent Caribbean writers of our time.
Rice and Beans : a unique dish in a hundred places
by Richard Wilk (Editor); Livia Barbosa (Editor)
Call Number: GT2850 .R54 2012
Publication Date: 2012-08-01
Rice and Beans is a book about the paradox of local and global. On one hand, this is a globe-spanning dish, a simple source of complete nutrition for billions of people in hundreds of countries. On the other hand in every place people insist that Rice and Beans is a local invention, deeply rooted in a particular history and culture. How can something so universal also be so particular?
Soul and Spice
by Heidi H. Cusick; Jessica B. Harris (Foreword by); Del R. Roth (Illustrator)
In this insightful and eclectic history, Adrian Miller delves into the influences, ingredients, and innovations that make up the soul food tradition. Focusing each chapter on the culinary and social history of one dish--such as fried chicken, chitlins, yams, greens, and "red drinks"--Miller uncovers how it got on the soul food plate and what it means for African American culture and identity.
Soul Food Junkies (DVD)
Call Number: Media Center: TX715 .S68 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Filmmaker Byron Hurt looks at the past and future of soul food - from its roots in Western Africa, to its incarnation in the American South, to its contribution to modern health crises in communities of color. PBS Info Page
Sylvia's Family Soul Food Cookbook
by Sylvia Woods
Call Number: TX715 .W893 1999
Publication Date: 1999-06-23
Sylvia's Family Soul Food Cookbook begins as Sylvia recalls her childhood, when she lived with both her mother and her grandmother -- the town's only midwives. The entire community of Hemingway, South Carolina, shared responsibilities, helped raise all of the children, and worked side by side together every day in the bean fields. Perhaps most important, the community shared its food and recipes.
What the Slaves Ate
by Herbert C. Covey; Dwight Eisnach
Call Number: E443 .C73 2009
Publication Date: 2009-05-30
The powerful, long-neglected testimony of former slaves places African American slave foods and foodways at the center of the complex social dynamics of the plantation South.
World of a Slave
by Martha B. Katz-Hyman (Editor); Kym S. Rice (Editor)
Call Number: E441 .W895 2011
Publication Date: 2011-02-01
Although many encyclopedias discuss slavery, enslaved blacks, and African American life and culture, none focus on the material world of slaves, such as what they saw; touched; heard; ate, drank, and smoked; wore; worked with and in; used, cultivated, crafted, played, and played with; and slept on.