HS 600: Comics and American Values in the 1970s

Find Articles

This guide will provide resources to scholarly works which look at Comic Books, Comic Strips, Graphic Novels and other sequential materials from an aesthetic point of view.

Comic Book Journals

International Journal of Comic Art
Scholarly research on any aspect of comic art, defined as animation, comic books, newspaper and magazine strips, caricature, gag and political cartoons, humorous art, and humor or cartoon magazines.
more...less...
Available from Art Full Text 2005-2010
Indexed to 2012
Image [&] Narrative
Image [&] Narrative is a peer-reviewed e-journal on visual narratology and word and image studies in the broadest sense of the term.
ImageTexT
ImageTexT is a peer-reviewed, open access journal dedicated to the interdisciplinary study of comics and related media. We are published by the English Department at the University of Florida with support from the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. Our content is available free of charge, and regular issues of ImageTexT will be published three times per year.
Comics Journal
"The Comics Journal is a magazine that covers the comics medium from an arts-first perspective. We are owned and operated by Fantagraphics Books, a leading publisher of alternative comic books ."

Art Databases

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Art Source covers articles, books, podcasts and more from fine, decorative and commercial art, architecture and architectural design from over 700 full-text journals, 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, It includes and expands coverage provided by Art Full Text and Art Retrospective. Coverage: 1914 - current.
Arts & Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from over 500 scholarly peer-reviewed journals covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies and is designed to reflect the interdisciplinarity of contemporary study in the arts and humanities.

Art Discovery from OCLC
The aggregated holdings from 36 art libraries and three consortia (comprising another 24 libraries) from Europe, North America, Asia and Australia along with 1,900 databases and millions of journal articles and e-books, searchable through this one interface.

International Bibliography of Art (IBA) This link opens in a new window
IBA (International Bibliography of Art) is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and consists of approximately 28,000 records of international scholarship on Fine and Decorative arts in all media, Museum Studies, Archaeology, Classical Studies and Material culture published since 2008.
ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
Source of comprehensive abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews of modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards, including performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, museum design, fashion, and photography.
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) This link opens in a new window
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) provides abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals from 1973 onwards, including fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture.

arthistoricum.net
Resources include books, magazines and articles, from the special collection catalogues for Contemporary Art (Dresden SLUB) and Art History (UB Heidelberg)as well as images from the Deutsche Fotothek (German Photographic Collection), publications from the ART-Dok Platform for Art History, and ART Guide’s collection of art historical Internet resources.
Virtual Catalogue for Art History artlibraries.net
An international specialized meta catalogue of more than 13 million bibliographic records for articles in periodicals, conference papers, festschriften, exhibition catalogues and exhibition books, etc., and an increasing percentage of records for archival and photographic materials as well as for online resources from over three dozen institutions worldwide.
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals: Fine Arts
Links to full text of Open Access, Peer-reviewed journals, including Nineteenth Century Art Worldwide, Archivo Español de Arte, The Bonefolder, Journal of Art Historiography, Papers of Surrealism, Tate Papers and others

Google Scholar & Find It

Google Scholar works well for broad searches of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources.

You can set up Google Scholar to provide FindIt@BC links which show you Boston College material; online articles, journals in our collection, or the option to request an article or book through Interlibrary Loan.

To set up Google Scholar to display FindIt@BC links:

Go to Google Scholar
Click on Settings
Choose Library links
Search for "Boston College" and select Boston College - Findit@BC

Don't forget to click

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to items in journals, magazines, newspapers, and many other formats. Most entries provide links to the full text or other file, with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature. There are also video files, podcasts and transcripts from AP,NPR, CNN, CBC and full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.
IngentaConnect This link opens in a new window
This index database provides citations to scholarly research articles, books, monographs, reports, and statistics online, many linked to full text. It also provides a table of contents and an alerts service based on your search terms.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a collection of scholarly ebooks and journals across disciplines. The journal archive includes back issues and some current issues.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Archive Online is an archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. It provides researchers with access to more than 200 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides full-text access to a large number of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences published by over 120 of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. In addition, UPCC Book Collections on Project MUSE, launched in January 2012, offer book-length scholarship, fully integrated with MUSE's scholarly journal content. The Project Muse platform allows searching of books and journals in one place.

O'Neill Library

Bapst Library

Burns Library

Educational Resource Center

Law Library

Social Work Library

Theology & Ministry Library

O'Connor Library

Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies

HS 600: Comics and American Values in the 1970s

Find Articles

Comic Book Journals

Art Databases

Google Scholar & Find It

Multidisciplinary Databases