Boston College University Libraries

Theatre and Dance Portal: Getting Started with Research in Theatre and Dance

Getting Started with Research in Theatre and Dance

Key Resources

In-Depth Research Guides

Database Highlights

Image result for "Play Index"Play Index
This database indexes over 31,000 plays published individually or in collections from 1949 to the present. It covers a wide range of plays written in or translated into English, including one-act plays, pageants, plays in verse, radio and television plays, and classic drama. One may search for plays by title; author; subject; style; genre; cast type. The database is updated continuously, with new material added to the database at least weekly.
 

LCO image 1Drama Criticism
Each volume of this online resource covers four to eight significant dramatists or plays. For each play or playwright featured, a full range of critical opinion is presented, along with a biographical sketch, a chronological list of the writer's major works and more. Approximately 90-95% of the critical essays are full text. Drama Criticism is part of the Literature Criticism Online database.

 

 

 

Image result for "Dance in video"Dance in Video
Dance in Video features some of the most influential dance performers and companies together with dozens of documentaries, interviews, and dance instruction videos — comprising 500 hours of content. The database provides coverage in breadth and depth for modern dance forms, and is valuable for researching dance history, dance analysis, dance instruction.

 

Subject Guide

Brendan Rapple
Contact:
Room 414
O'Neill Library
Boston College

Ph: 617 5524482