HS 247: Irish Material Culture: 1770-1930

Visual Culture

This guide will provide multidisciplinary resources to support research and documentation for Irish Material Culture

Biographies

Snoddy, Theo. 2002. Dictionary of Irish artists : 20th century. Dublin: Merlin
N6796 .S65 2002 Bapst Reference

Strickland, Walter G. 1969. A dictionary of Irish artists. Shannon, Ire.: Irish University Press
N6782.S7 1969b Bapst Reference

Loeber, Rolf. 1981. A biographical dictionary of architects in Ireland, 1600-1720. London: J. Murray
NA987 .L63 1981 Bapst Reference

Dictionary of Irish Architects 1720-1940
The Dictionary of Irish Architects contains biographical and bibliographical information on architects, builders and craftsmen born or working in Ireland during the period 1720 to 1940, and information on the buildings on which they worked

Cambridge Dictionary of Irish Biography This link opens in a new window
The DLB is the most comprehensive and authoritative biographical dictionary yet published for Ireland. It contains over 9,000 signed biographical articles which describe and assess the careers of subjects in all fields of endeavour, including politics, law, religion, literature, journalism, architecture, painting, music, the stage, science, medicine, engineering, entertainment and sport.

Other LibGuides

For more information consult these LibGuides:

Encyclopedias

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Search for your city or artist in Grove Art Online to find recently updated articles for both scholarly research and concise information for all aspects of the visual arts. The Dictionary of Art, is the most comprehensive, scholarly encyclopedic reference.

Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts
The Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts contains over 3,000 entries covering thousands of years of decorative arts production throughout western and non-western cultures
Oxford Companion to Archaeology
Featuring 700 authoritative articles written by hundreds of respected scholars from all over the world, The Oxford Companion to Archaeology provides authoritative, stimulating entries on a range of subjects, including engaging biographies of the great figures in the field, extensive coverage of the methods used in archaeological research, together with essays that examine human evolution and the many general facets of culture.

Art and Architecture Databases

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Art Source covers articles, books, podcasts and more from fine, decorative and commercial art, architecture and architectural design from over 700 full-text journals, 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, It includes and expands coverage provided by Art Full Text and Art Retrospective. Coverage: 1914 - current.
Arts & Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from over 500 scholarly peer-reviewed journals covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies and is designed to reflect the interdisciplinarity of contemporary study in the arts and humanities.

Art Discovery from OCLC
The aggregated holdings from 36 art libraries and three consortia (comprising another 24 libraries) from Europe, North America, Asia and Australia along with 1,900 databases and millions of journal articles and e-books, searchable through this one interface.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
An index to architectural periodicals published since 1934 with selective coverage as far back as 1741!

RIBA British Architectural Library online Catalogue
an index to articles in over 300 architectural periodicals, to books and audio visual materials acquired by the RIBA Library, to holdings of the Library's Photographs Collection, drawings, manuscripts and archives and a biographical database of architects.

ARTstor for Images

You can view and download images from ARTstor, a searchable database of more than 1,000,000 digital images for research, teaching and enjoyment in the Humanities and Social Sciences, covering many time periods and cultures, representing architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design. These images can then be inserted into your papers and power point presentations.

Museums

Armagh County Museum
Search the collections for art and objects that illustrate the Domestic Life, History, Animal life, Transport, Textiles & Costume and Social life & Traditions of this area.
Crawford Art Gallery, Emmet Place, Cork, Ireland
Search images from the permanent collection
Gorry Gallery Catalogues
Download the catalogues of Irish Art Exhibitions from 2001 to the present.
National Gallery of Ireland
Search the online collection of Irish and European Art
National Gallery of Ireland
DORAS features material from the National Gallery of Ireland’s various archives and special collections. It provides access to images of primary and secondary material relating to key Irish artists, the institution’s own historical archive and rare and antiquarian publications relating to art. DORAS offers the user high quality images and associated information.
National Library of Ireland Catalogue
Search the print and digital collections including journals, magazines, government publications, manuscripts, visual collections including prints & drawings, ephemera, and photographs.
Ulster Museum
Search the collections of Art,History, Furniture, Fashion and Irish Art of the 17th century.
Ulster Folk and Transport Museum
A wide-ranging collection of hand and machine tools relating to people's working lives over the last 200 years consisting of examples of traditional craftsperson's work, with objects in stone, iron, wood, leather and associated materials. These are supported by audio, visual and documentary archival materials.

O'Neill Library

Bapst Library

Burns Library

Educational Resource Center

Law Library

Social Work Library

Theology & Ministry Library

O'Connor Library

Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies

HS 247: Irish Material Culture: 1770-1930

Visual Culture

Biographies

Other LibGuides

Encyclopedias

Art and Architecture Databases

ARTstor for Images

Museums