Skip to main content

Irish Genealogy (Irish Studies)

:

Other Resources

The aim of this guide is to point users to resources that assist genealogical research.

Massachusetts Research

The following Massachusetts offices provide assistance to persons in search of historical records for family members:

Archives, Archdiocese of Boston
66 Brooks Drive
Braintree, MA 02184-3839


Massachusetts Archives

Boston, MA
617-727-2816


National Archives and Federal Records Center

New England--Waltham Branch
380 Trapelo Road
Waltham, MA 02154
781-647-8104


National Archives and Federal Records Center

New England--Pittsfield Branch
10 Conte Drive
Pittsfield, MA 01201
413-445-6885


New England Historic Genealogical Society

99-101 Newbury Street
Boston, MA 02116
617-536-5740


Local Family History Centers
(Branches of the Family History Library, Salt Lake City , Utah )

1. Belmont Massachusetts
15 Ledgewood Place
Belmont , MA
Phone: 617-489-9375
Hours: T,W 7pm-9pm; Sat 9am-12pm.
Closed: Thursdays (for July and August)
Attention: Send email to Belmont.FHC@Verizon.net


2. Weston
Massachusetts
150 Brown St
Weston, MA
Phone: 781-235-2164
Hours: T,W 7pm-9pm; F-Sat 9am-3pm.
Please call ahead first during inclement weather to see if FHC is open.

Gravestone Inscriptions

Gravestone Inscriptions

Fund for the Preservation of the Memorials of The Dead (Ireland): Report.
Volume 1, 1888 - Volume 5, 1903. (O'Neill Library: DA900.D79 D7)

Gravestone Inscriptions: Belfast. Volume 1. Shankill Graveyard and Tablets in Christ Church and St. George's Church. Belfast: Ulster Historical Foundation, 1982- (O'Neill Library: CS497.B44 G7 V.1)


Gravestone Inscriptions: Belfast.
Volume 2. Friar's Bush and Milltown Graveyards. Belfast: Ulster Historical Foundation. (O'Neill Library: CS497.B44 G7 v.2)


Gravestone Inscriptions: County Antrim.
Volume 2. Parishes of Glynn, Kilroot, Raloo, and Templecorran. Compiled by George Rutherford. Belfast: Ulster Historical Foundation, 1981. (O'Neill Library: CS497.A57 G7)


Gravestone Inscriptions: County Down.
Volumes 1, 4-19. Compiled by R.S.J. Clarke. Belfast: Ulster Historical Foundation. (O'Neill Library: CS497.D6 G7)


Pierce, Richard Andrew. The Stones Speak: Irish Place Names from Inscriptions in Boston's Mount Calvary Cemetery. Boston, MA: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2000. (O'Neill Library: F73.61 .P54 2000)


Books and More

British Isles Vital Records Index (16 CD-ROMS): England Scotland and Wales, 2nd edition. Salt Lake City, Utah:Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, c2001. (O'Neill Offsite Collection: CS434.B67 2001 Sign into Holmes to request.)

Burke's Peerage and Baronetage. London, Burke's Peerage, Ltd.(O'Neill Library: Ref. CS420.B85)

Harris, Ruth-Ann, Jacobs, Donald M., O'Keeffe, eds. The Search for Missing Friends: Irish Immigrant Advertisements Placed in the Boston Pilot. Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 1989- ( O'Neill Library: F73.9.I6 S43 1989)


Ireland. Public Record Office. Sources for Local Studies in the Public Record Office of Ireland. Dublin: Coordinating Committee for Educational Services based on the Institutions of Science and Art, 1982. (O'Neill Offsite Collections: Z2043.A1 I73 1982 Sign into Holmes to request.)


Mitchell, Brian. A Guide to Irish Parish Registers. Baltimore: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1988 (O'Neill Library: CD1118.5.A1 M58 1988)


Northern Ireland Public Record Office. An Irish Genealogical Source: Guide to Church Records. Belfast: Ulster Historical Foundation, 1994. (O'Neill Library: CS441.N67 1994)


O'Neill, Robert Keating. Ulster Libraries : Archives, Museums & Ancestral Heritage Centres--a Visitors' Guide. Belfast: Ulster Historical Foundation, 2002. (O'Neill Library: Ref. Z792.5.A1 O634 2002)


Reid, Noel. A Table of Church of Ireland Parochial Records and Copies. Naas, Co. Kildare: Irish Family History Society, 1994. (O'Neill Library: CS484.T33 1994)

Royal Irish Academy. Ordnance Survey Memoirs C. 1833-1837 (O'Neill Library: Microfilm)


Ryan, James G., ed. Irish Church Records: Their History, Availability and Use in Family and Local History Research. Glengeary, Co. Dublin: Flyleaf Press, 2001. (O'Neill Library:  CD1118.5.A1 I75x 2001)


Ryan, James G. Irish Records: Sources for Family & Local History. Salt Lake City, Utah: Ancestry Pub., 1988 (O'Neill Library: Ref. CS483.R826x 1988)


Ryan, James G. Sources for Irish Family History: a Listing of Books and Articles on the History of Irish Families. Glengeary, Co. Dublin: Flyleaf Press, 2001. (O'Neill Library:  CS483 .R84 2001)

The WrindexIrish Societies in Early San Francisco : a voluntarism directory. Saint Paul, MN. WRC Historical Indexes, 2006. (O'Neill Library: Stacks: F869.S39 I6585 2006)