Skip to main content

Irish Genealogy (Irish Studies)

:

Places & Place Names

The aim of this guide is to point users to resources that assist genealogical research.

Index and Dictionary

General Alphabetical Index to the Townlands and Towns, Parishes and Baronies of Ireland. Dublin: H.M.S.O.,1851; Reprinted: Baltimore: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1984. (O'Neill Library: DA979 .G46 1984)

Lewis, Samuel. A Topographical Dictionary of Ireland: Comprising the Several Counties, Cities, Boroughs, Corporate, Market and Post Towns, Parishes and Villages with Historical and Statistical Descriptions. London: 1837; Reprinted: Baltimore: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1984. (O'Neill Library: DA979.L48 1984)

 

Ordnance Survey & Other Maps

Ordnance Survey of Ireland, 1833-1844. Dublin: Ordnance Survey, 1903-1953. (O'Neill Library Microforms: Microfiche G5780 .O7 1985; Burns Library: G5780 1903 .O7 IRISH)
The Ordnance Survey Maps of Ireland (1833-1844) were reissued in microfiche format in 1985 by Irish Microfilms, Ltd. These maps are microfiche copies of the original six-inch-to-the-mile maps published between the years 1833-1944. The maps are arranged by county and by sheet number within county.
 
To locate the map of a particular area, use the General Alphabetical Index to the Townlands and Towns, Parishes of Ireland. (O'Neill Library: DA979.G46 1984). The left hand column in this index will give the sheet numbers of the maps within each county.
 
When using the Griffith's Valuation, references to the sheet numbers for the maps appear under the first entry for a Townland, under the column marked "Townlands and Occupiers" (this is the second column of each page of Griffith's).
Information from column one of each page of Griffith's (entitled, "No.and Letters of Reference to Maps") does not appear on our copies of the Ordnance Survey Maps. This information refers to the Valuation Maps available at the Valuation Office in Dublin, Ireland.
 
Readers interested in the history of the Ordnance Survey in Ireland should consult A Paper Landscape: The Ordnance Survey in Nineteenth-Century Ireland, by John. H Andrews (Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1975) (O'Neill Library: HD 626.A6)
 
Inner City Trust (Northern Ireland). Townland Maps. Derry, Northern Ireland: Inner City Trust, 1989. (O'Neill Library: Microfiche G1830.I5 1989)
Maps which show, on a county basis, all townlands within their respective civil parishes.

 

Irish Place Names

Ainmneacha Gaeilge na mBailte Poist. Baile Átha Cliath: Oifig an tSoláthair, [1969] (O'Neill Library: Ref. DA979 .A45x 1969; Burns Library: DA979.A45 1969 IRISH)
Divided by province, and then by county. Within county, Irish names are organized alphabetically, many with English equivalents.
 
Ask About Ireland Irish Place Names
 
Hogan, Edmund. Onomasticon Goedelicum: Locorum et Tribuum Hiberniae et Scotiae. An Index, with Identifications, to the Gaelic Names of Places and Tribes. Dublin: Four Courts Press, 1993. (O'Neill Library: Ref. DA979.H6 1993)
Gaelic placenames from literary sources (the citations are included at the beginning of the book) are organized alphabetically. Each entry lists the word's gender and declension, and identifies the town by its geography and English name.
 
Lewis, Samuel. A Topographical Dictionary of Ireland: Comprising the Several Counties, Cities, Boroughs, Corporate, Market, and Post Towns, Parishes, and Villages, with Historical and Statistical Descriptions. Port Washington, N.Y.: Kennikat Press, 1970. (O'Neill Library: DA979.L48 1995; Burns Library: DA979.L48 1970 IRISH)
Places are organized alphabetically based on generally-accepted spellings. In cases where there is more than one common spelling, both are listed. Entries provide county location and describes the geographical situation of the town as well as the town's churches and large houses.
 
Historical Dictionary of Gaelic Placenames = Foclóir Stairiúl Áitainmneacha na Gaeilge. London: Irish Texts Society, 2003- (O'Neill Library: DA979 .H57 2003; Burns Library: DA979 .H57 2003 REF)
The aim of the Locus project is to produce a new Historical Dictionary of Irish placenames and tribal names to replace Fr. Edmund Hogan's Onomasticon Goedelicum.
 
Ordnance Survey (Ireland). Liostaí Logainmneacha. Baile Átha Cliath: Oifig an tSoláthair: Oifig Dhíolta Foilseachán Rialtais [Distributor], 1991-<[1994]> (O'Neill Library: DA979.L56 1991 (selected volumes)
Each volume presents one county and provides the official Irish and English names of townlands, civil parishes, and baronies of the county.
 
O'Laughlin, Michael C. The Master Book of Irish Placenames: Placename Locator and Master Atlas of Ireland. 1st ed. Kansas City, Mo.: Irish Genealogical Foundation, 1994. (O'Neill Library: Ref. DA979.O52 1994)
Provides an alphabetical list of older spellings of place names, with examples of variant spellings. Includes a nineteenth-century map for each county, with an index to find the places.
 
Parliamentary Gazetteer of Ireland. Dublin: A. Fullarton and Co., 1846. (O'Neill Library: DA979 .P24 1998; Burns Library: DA979 .P24 1846 REF)
1846 ed. has subtitle: "Adapted to the new poor-law, franchise, municipal and ecclesiastical arrangements, and compiled with a special reference to the lines of railroad and canal communication, as existing in 1844-45 ... and presenting the results, in detail, of the census of 1841, compared with that of 1831."
 
Placenames Databases of Ireland
 
Stockman, Gerard, general editor. Place-names of Northern Ireland. Belfast: Institute of Irish Studies, The Queen's University of Belfast, 1992- (O'Neill Library: Ref. DA990.U46 P53 1992)
Ongoing series. Includes maps. Each volume is a county or part of a county. Essays include maps and derivations of town or other geographic names.