Boston College University Libraries

History Research: Find Books & Articles

Scholarly resources in all areas of historical research at Boston College

Find Books at Boston College

Holmes Library Catalog:

 Keyword     Keyword in Subject

Find & Request Books from BC and Beyond

WorldCat Library Catalog:

Books Only   All Formats

Books Not Available at BC

Members of the BC community can find and obtain books and other materials from beyond BC in several ways:

Dissertations and Theses

List of Core Journals

Core Article Databases

America: History & Life is the premier index of journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations pertaining to the study of United States and Canadian History, from prehistory to the present. Coverage is 1910 - present.

Historical Abstracts is the corollary index of journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations pertaining to the study of World History (Europe, Asia, Middle East, Africa, Latin America), from 1450 to the present. Coverage is 1955 - present.

You may also search them simultaneously:

JSTOR is all full-text, and very good for retrospective research in history. But, it does not include all the current scholarship indexed in America: History & Life or Historical Abstracts.

Additional Article Databases

*New Databases

Global Commodities focuses on: Chocolate, Coffee, Cotton, Fur, Oil, Opium, Porcelain, Silver & Gold, Spices, Sugar, Tea, Timber, Tobacco, Wheat, and Wine & Spirits. Each commodity is documented through manuscript materials, maps, posters, photos, and rare books, allowing students to explore the origins of the commodity, their first uses, the trade that developed, and the ways in which these items were marketed and consumed.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports (1941-1974) are transcribed and translated foreign broadcasts and news. The original mission was to monitor, record, transcribe, and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. It now offers the opportunity for students to expand their research into primary sources that originated in languages they do not understand.

Times of India (1838-2004) Historical File of the most widely-circulated English-language daily newspaper in India.