About Business Statistics

There is no one source for business statistics since there are so many different types of statistics depending on what you are looking for. This guide shows some of the more commonly used sources in conjunction with coursework at Boston College.
The resources concentrate on the United States, but contain some international coverage too.
User Feedback
Please let me hear from you with any links that you have found that are useful and could be added to my resource list. Just click on the submit button below.
Statistical Compendiums
These are all very broad statistical compendiums containing information on many aspects of business and the economy.
- Statista
A searchable database of thousands of statistics on a wide range of topics, including media, the environment, business and industry, sports, communication, health care and more. Data can be exported to Excel and charts can be exported as picture files or directly into PowerPoint. - Statistical Abstracts of the United States

- Infoplease Almanac: Business and FinanceIncludes annual data from 1900-to present day.
- U.S. Historical StatisticsGovernment agency statistics going back to the Colonial times.
- Proquest Statistical Insight
Contains business, economic and financial data.
Include links to charts and tables and other various statistical sources - Proquest Statistical Datasets (Click on Related Subscriptions, then Statistical Datasets)
Provides mapping for many different consumer data points. Also includes data from the International Monetary Fund: balance of payments, direction of trade and international financial statistics. - Economy at a GlanceBy the Bureau of Labor Statistics
- OECD Statistics
Detail on industries for OECD member countries. Includes: fixed capital formation, capital stock, employment and hours, profit, exports/imports. - EIU Data Services-City Data and Market Indicators & Forecasts
There are two databases in one: Market Indicator and Forecasts and City Data. Market Indicator & Forecasts contains an extensive database of economic, demographic, consumption and industry data on 60 major countries worldwide and 11 regional aggregates. There are detailed economic and industry forecasts for the next five years and longer-term economic projections.
City Data contains product prices and business costs for over 330 prices levels on more than 160 products and services. - Federal Reserve Data (FRED)Contains major economic time series data by the Federal Reserve.
Other Statistical Guides
Other Boston College Statistical Research Guides:
- Data/Statistics/GIS Portal
- Financial Markets
- Economics
- Source OECDOECD data is international and cross national for OECD countries.
- Finding Spatial Data for Mapping (GIS)
Reference Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Submit

Loading...
