This is the "Background & Examples" page of the "BK 600: Food, Glorious Food" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link

BK 600: Food, Glorious Food  

Last Updated: Jan 30, 2014 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/bk600 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Background & Examples Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference Works

Cover Art
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America - Andrew Smith (Editor); Bruce Kraig
ISBN: 9780199734962
Publication Date: 2012-11-30
The second edition of The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America thoroughly updates the original, award-winning title, while capturing the shifting American perspective on food and ensuring that this title is the most authoritative, current reference work on American cuisine.

Cover Art
The Cambridge World History of Food - Kenneth F. Kiple (Editor); Kriemhild Conee Ornelas (Editor)
ISBN: 9780521402149
Publication Date: 1999-07-01
An undertaking without parallel or precedent, this monumental volume encapsulates much of what is known of the history of food and nutrition.

Cover Art
Africa : Country Studies - Library of Congress
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.

Cover Art
Africana - Kwame Anthony Appiah (Editor); Henry Louis Gates (Editor)
Call Number: O'Neill Stacks: DT14 .A37435 2005
ISBN: 0195170555
Publication Date: 2005-04-07
More than 4,000 articles cover prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religion, ethnic groups, organizations and countries on both sides of the Atlantic Details in Holmes

Cover Art
A Companion to African American History - Alton Hornsby (Editor)
ISBN: 9780631230663
Publication Date: 2005-02-04
A Companion to African American History is a collection of original and authoritative essays arranged thematically and topically, covering a wide range of subjects from the seventeenth century to the present day. Includes discussions of globalization, region, migration, gender, class and social forces that make up the broad cultural fabric of African American history

Cover Art
A Companion to African-American Studies - Jane Anna Gordon (Editor); Lewis R. Gordon (Editor)
ISBN: 9780631235163
Publication Date: 2006-02-10
Contains original essays by expert contributors in the field of African-American Studies, inclluding a series of reflections from those who established African American Studies as a bona fide academic discipline

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the African Diaspora - Carole Boyce-Davies (Editor)
ISBN: 9781851097050
Publication Date: 2008-07-20
The authoritative source for information on the people, places, and events of the African diaspora, spanning five continents and five centuries.

 

Selected Cookbooks & Monographs

Cover Art
Africa Cookbook - Jessica B. Harris
Call Number: TX725.A1 H284 1998
ISBN: 0684802759
Publication Date: 1998-12-09
InThe Africa Cookbook,culinary historian and cookbook author Jessica B. Harris takes you on a tour of the Motherland, exploring the extraordinary diversity of the cuisines of the continent.The Africa Cookbookfeatures more than 200 traditional and contemporary recipes collected from home kitchens across Africa, including the familiar couscous of Morocco, the savory stews of the eastern grasslands, and the curries and chutneys of the Swahili coasts. From the sophisticated cuisine of Senegal to the creolized food of Mauritius and the Seychelles to the Afrikaner barbecues of South Africa, Harris presents the food of the continent and paints unforgettable portraits of the people who shared their culinary heritage with her.

Cover Art
African American Foodways - Anne L. Bower (Editor)
Call Number: TX715 .A2428 2007
ISBN: 9780252031854
Publication Date: 2007-05-30
Moving beyond catfish and collard greens to the soul of African American cooking Ranging over the progression from seventeenth-century West African fare to contemporary fusion dishes using "soul food" ingredients, this book provides an introduction to many aspects of African American foodways.

Cover Art
America I Am Pass It down Cookbook - Jeff Henderson (Editor); Ramin Ganeshram
Call Number: TX715 .H4959 2011
ISBN: 9781401931353
Publication Date: 2011-02-01
The smells in the kitchen, the unforgettable flavors--these powerful memories of food, family, and tradition are intertwined and have traveled down from generations past to help make us the people we are today. Now, Tavis Smiley's America I AM exhibit has joined forces with Chef Jeff Henderson and Ramin Ganeshram to create the America I AM Pass It Down Cookbook.

Cover Art
Brazilian Food - Jane Fajans
Call Number: GT2853.B6 F35 2012
ISBN: 9780857850416
Publication Date: 2012-11-01
Explores the role that food and cuisine play in the construction of identity on both the regional and national levels in Brazil through key case examples.

Cover Art
Building Houses Out of Chicken Legs - Psyche A. Williams-Forson
Call Number: GT2868.5 .W55 2006
ISBN: 9780807830222
Publication Date: 2006-05-29
Examines the complexity of black women's legacies using food as a form of cultural work. While acknowledging the negative interpretations of black culture associated with chicken imagery, focuses on the ways black women have forged their own self-definitions and relationships to the "gospel bird."

Cover Art
Cooking in Other Women's Kitchens - Rebecca Sharpless
Call Number: HD6072.2.U52 S574 2010
ISBN: 9780807834329
Publication Date: 2010-11-11
As African American women left slavery and the plantation economy behind, many entered domestic service in southern cities and towns. Cooking was one of the primary jobs they performed in white employers' homes, feeding generations of white families and, in the process, profoundly shaping southern foodways and culture.

Cover Art
Family of the Spirit Cookbook - John Pinberhughes
Call Number: TX715 .P6568 2001
ISBN: 006095809X
Publication Date: 2001-06-01
The quintessential cookbook/family album by master home-chef and photographer John Pinderhughes serves up traditional African American cooking with a dash of the nouvelle.

Cover Art
Food and Identity in the Caribbean - Hanna Garth (Editor)
Call Number: GT2853.C27 F66 2013
ISBN: 9780857853578
Publication Date: 2013-05-08
Explore the relationship between food and identity in everyday life in the Caribbean.

Cover Art
Fusion Foodways of Africa's Gold Coast in the Atlantic ERA - J. D. La Fleur
ISBN: 9789004234093
Publication Date: 2012-09-01
Agricultural changes and culinary cross-currents from the Gold Coast indicate that Africans engaged the Atlantic world not with passivity but as full partners with others on continents whose histories have enjoyed longer, and greater, scholarly attention. The most important ‘seeds of change’ are found in the creativity and innovation of the people who engaged the challenges and opportunities of the Atlantic World.

Cover Art
High on the Hog - Jessica B. Harris
Call Number: TX715 .H29972 2011
ISBN: 9781596913950
Publication Date: 2011-01-04
The food and foodways of the African Diaspora.

Cover Art
Historical Cookbook of the American Negro - Dorothy I. Height (Preface by); National Council of Negro Women Staff
Call Number: TX715 .H72323 2000
ISBN: 0807009644
Publication Date: 2000-10-20
A richly brewed collection of recipes, historical facts, photos and personal anecdotes. Scattered among recipes readers find excerpts from such documents as the Gettysburg Address and the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. This delightful collection of delicious recipes helps commemorate African-American history throughout the year.

Cover Art
Hog and Hominy - Fredrick Douglass Opie; Frederick Douglass Opie
Call Number: TX715 .O548 2008
ISBN: 9780231146388
Publication Date: 2008-10-08
Frederick Douglass Opie deconstructs and compares the foodways of people of African descent throughout the Americas, interprets the health legacies of black culinary traditions, and explains the concept of soul itself, revealing soul food to be an amalgamation of West and Central African social and cultural influences as well as the adaptations blacks made to the conditions of slavery and freedom in the Americas.

Cover Art
In the Shadow of Slavery - Judith A. Carney; Richard Nicholas Rosomoff
ISBN: 9780520257504
Publication Date: 2010-01-27
New assessment of the Atlantic slave trade; shifts attention from the crops slaves were forced to produce to the foods they planted for their own nourishment.

Cover Art
Peppers, Cracklings, and Knots of Wool Cookbook - Diane M. Spivey
Call Number: TX725.A4 S68 1999
ISBN: 0791443752
Publication Date: 1999-10-01
Fifteen years in the making, this book showcases a myriad of sumptuous, mouth-watering recipes of people of color from various parts of the globe.

Cover Art
Pig Tails 'n Breadfruit - Austin Clarke
Call Number: TX716.B35 C58 2000
ISBN: 1565845803
Publication Date: 2000-04-01
Caribbean memoir --part cookbook, part family history--by one of the pre-eminent Caribbean writers of our time.

Cover Art
Rice and Beans - Richard Wilk (Editor); Livia Barbosa (Editor)
Call Number: GT2850 .R54 2012
ISBN: 9781847889041
Publication Date: 2012-08-01
Rice and Beans is a book about the paradox of local and global. On one hand, this is a globe-spanning dish, a simple source of complete nutrition for billions of people in hundreds of countries. On the other hand in every place people insist that Rice and Beans is a local invention, deeply rooted in a particular history and culture. How can something so universal also be so particular?

Cover Art
Soul and Spice - Heidi H. Cusick; Jessica B. Harris (Foreword by); Del R. Roth (Illustrator)
Call Number: TX725.A35 C87 1995
ISBN: 0811804194
Publication Date: 1995-03-01
Contents: Caribbean -- Bahia Brazilian -- Soul food -- Louisiana Creole -- Barbecue -- Recent African immigrants.

Cover Art
Soul Food - Adrian Miller
Call Number: TX715 .M6379 2013
ISBN: 9781469607627
Publication Date: 2013-08-15
In this insightful and eclectic history, Adrian Miller delves into the influences, ingredients, and innovations that make up the soul food tradition. Focusing each chapter on the culinary and social history of one dish--such as fried chicken, chitlins, yams, greens, and "red drinks"--Miller uncovers how it got on the soul food plate and what it means for African American culture and identity.

Cover Art
Soul Food Junkies (DVD) - PBS
Call Number: Media Center: TX715 .S68 2013
ISBN: 9781608838516
Publication Date: 2013
Filmmaker Byron Hurt looks at the past and future of soul food - from its roots in Western Africa, to its incarnation in the American South, to its contribution to modern health crises in communities of color. PBS Info Page

Cover Art
Sylvia's Family Soul Food Cookbook - Sylvia Woods
Call Number: TX715 .W893 1999
ISBN: 0688162193
Publication Date: 1999-06-23
Sylvia's Family Soul Food Cookbook begins as Sylvia recalls her childhood, when she lived with both her mother and her grandmother -- the town's only midwives. The entire community of Hemingway, South Carolina, shared responsibilities, helped raise all of the children, and worked side by side together every day in the bean fields. Perhaps most important, the community shared its food and recipes.

Cover Art
What the Slaves Ate - Herbert C. Covey; Dwight Eisnach
Call Number: E443 .C73 2009
ISBN: 9780313374975
Publication Date: 2009-05-30
The powerful, long-neglected testimony of former slaves places African American slave foods and foodways at the center of the complex social dynamics of the plantation South.

Cover Art
World of a Slave - Martha B. Katz-Hyman (Editor); Kym S. Rice (Editor)
Call Number: E441 .W895 2011
ISBN: 9780313349423
Publication Date: 2011-02-01
Although many encyclopedias discuss slavery, enslaved blacks, and African American life and culture, none focus on the material world of slaves, such as what they saw; touched; heard; ate, drank, and smoked; wore; worked with and in; used, cultivated, crafted, played, and played with; and slept on.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip