Skip to main content

John J. Burns Library

:

Digital Collections

Boston College's special collections and rare books, including the University’s Archives, are housed in the John J. Burns Library, located in the Bapst Library Building, north entrance.

Internet Archive

There are over 3,000 volumes available online in the Internet Archive-Boston College digital collection. Boston College contributions include Jesuitica, Medieval Philosophy, and Irish History texts, as well as the Boston College Sub Turri yearbook, the Newton College of the Sacred Heart Well yearbook, Boston College catalogues and Boston College alumni magazines. This material can be found in our catalog.

An easy way to search for Internet Archive books in the catalog is to go to Advanced Search, change "Anywhere in record" to "Local collection," and search for "oca".

Newspapers

The Boston College Libraries have digitized select newspapers held by the Burns Library. Currently, The Heights, which is the student newspaper of Boston College, is available online from 1919 - 2013.  In addition, The Sacred Heart Review, a Catholic newspaper devoted to local, national, and international news, is available online from 1888 - 1918.

Content for both of these titles is available at newspapers.bc.edu

Add to our Digital Collections

Boston College Digital Collections provide access to rare and unique collections in digitized form.  If you have an idea for a project that involves digitization and management of materials for inclusion in the Libraries' permanent digital collections, please submit the Project Submission Form.

Finding Boston College Digital Collections

From the Libraries’ Home Page, select Digital Collections

  • Browse list of collections and click on titles of interest
  • Use search terms to search all digital collections
  • Use search terms to search within a specific collection

 

    Helpful Handouts

    These are handouts created for library instruction and other purposes that may prove useful to a wider audience. Please use them as you see fit.

    Burns Library Collections on Flickr

    The Burns Library's Flickr site is regularly updated with images of material from our collections.

    These images can be downloaded and used in papers or linked to from blogs, FaceBook, Twitter, or wherever you'd like (please follow our Creative Commons licensing). In most cases, the image captions provide links back to the Boston College catalog or digital resource for more information or connection to the larger collection from with the image came.

    Have fun browsing! And, please consider using our Flickr images or slideshows in your course work and/or instruction.

    BC Sesquicentennial Digital Library

    Boston College was founded in 1863 and moved to the Chestnut Hill campus in 1913. 2013 is both the Sesquicentennial and Centennial year for these siginificant milestones in Boston College history. Since the Boston College Libraries are responsible for the University Archives, part of our celebration has been making University history materials available digitially. See more about our efforts on the Digital Library tab of the University Archives guide.

    Streaming Video/Audio

    Streaming audio and video are available for some of the Burns Library's lectures and music programs.