Skip to main content

Scopus at Boston College

:

Introduction

Scopus v Web of Science guide adapted from U of Washington guide on the same topic

Scopus

The Scopus database is available to the Boston College community through 2017, allowing everyone to try it and provide feedback to the Libraries on the value of this tool to their work.  We hope you will use it, along with Web of Science, a similar database, also offering broad disciplinary coverage and scholarly metrics -- and send us Feedback

Why use Scopus?

1. Search for:

  • Scientific and scholarly articles
  • Citations of articles (from 1996-)
  • Citation score of authors (e.g., H-index)

2. Set up alerts to track future articles:

  • On a specific topic
  • By a specific author
  • That cite an article of interest
  • That cite any article by a specific author

3. Analyze data (primarily from 1996 forward)

  • Information on author, article, and journal rankings.
  • Analyze a set of references by institutional affiliation of authors.

For the Most Power, Register for an Account

Find the Register link on the right side of the Scopus website page.  Use your existing Elsevier account (from ScienceDirect, for example) or register for a new Scopus account to take advantage of some of the most useful features, such as saving searches and setting up regular alerts for new items published in your subject area, by others in the field, etc.

Scopus at a Glance

Scopus is a huge multidisciplinary database with citations and abstracts from peer-reviewed journal literature, trade journals, books, patent records, and conference publications.  It provides tools for tracking, analyzing, and visualizing search results.

  • Over 21,000 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide
  • Contains >60 million records, with the most thorough coverage from 1996 forward.
  • Includes over 6.4 million conference papers from proceedings and journals.
  • Provides 100% Medline coverage.  (Medline comprises the majority of the content in PubMed.)
  • Updated daily

Questions?

Please email the Scopus Taskforce, contact your subject librarian, or send us your feedback.

What does Scopus mean?

Hamerkop standing in a stream in Zambia, Thumbnail for version as of 15:27, 25 November 2012

The name, Scopus, was inspired by the bird, Hamerkop (Scopus umbretta), which supposedly has excellent navigation skills. [Burnham JF. Scopus database: a review. Biomed Digit Libr. 2006 Mar 8;3:1. doi:10.1186/1742-5581-3-1]

About This Guide

Thank you to the original authors of this guide developed at the University of Washington.