Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link
Admin Sign In 

Social Work with Children, Youth, & Families  Tags: social_work child_welfare children families  

This guide was designed to help you get started with social work research related to issues for children and their families. You will find books with background information, web sites, statistics, and suggested journal databases.
Last update: Sep 05th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/swlchild  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Background Information             Print Page
  
 

Background Information

Websites, encyclopedias, and handbooks can help you:

  • get brief, factual information to supplement your research.
  • Give you a good overview of a topic.
  • Help you get started with ideas for your research.
 

For our Offsite Students

A special note to our off-site students: if you need to use any books in our reference collection, we would be happy to e-mail you selected chapters from the books. E-mail us and let us know if you would like us to send you any chapters.

 
 

Encyclopedia of Social Work

New! This quintessential Social Work encyclopedia features entries by Karen Kayser, Demetrius Iatridis, James Lubben, Othelia Lee, and former GSSW Dean June Hopps. There are many chapters relevant to social work with children and families. This four-volume work is now available online.

 

Selected Reference Sources in the Library

The Social Work Library has a number of reference books with brief, informative chapters on children and families. We encourage you to browse the reference section or look through our onlinebooks. Here are just a few that we recommend:

Online Reference Books:

 Books in the Reference Section of the Library:

  • Adolescent Psychology (Lerner and Steinberg, 2009) Reference BF 724.H33

  • Assessment of Family Violence (Feindler, Rathus, and Silver, 2003) Reference HV6626.F45
  •  

  • Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare (Sowers and Dulmus, 2008) Reference HV40.C635
  •  

  • Encyclopedia of Child Abuse (Clark, 2001) Reference HV 6626.5 .C57
  •  

  • Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence (Jackson, 2007) Reference HV 6626.E534
  •  

  • Evidence-Based Psychotherapies for Children & Adolescents (Kazdin & Weisz, 2003) RJ504.E95
  •  

  • Work & Family in America (Stebbins, 2001) HD4904.25.S8

 

 

 

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageKate Silfen


Contact Info:
Kate Silfen
Reference Librarian
Social Work Library
McGuinn Hall Basement
Boston College
617-552-0792
Send Email

Subjects:
social work, psychology

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait